Sight & Sound’s Top Films of The Year

So somehow it’s already December 1st tomorrow. I’m not sure how that happened so quickly. The Earth should slow down revolving around the Sun, because I wouldn’t mind a longer year. This one seems the quickest yet. Existential crises aside the end of year brings us Best Of Film lists. Sight & Sound is  a British Monthly Film magazine from BFI that I wish I received. It’s also one of the earliest publications to name its top films for the year. Now this list might seem strange because they’re talking release dates in Britain, so some films that were released in 2013 here show up and some films that did not screen here or might not until 2015 show up as well.  The list and my thoughts on it are below.

Sight & Sound Top 20 Films Of 2014
1. Boyhood

This is the obvious number one pick. Nothing really comes close to this in terms of innovation, dedication and all the others ‘-tions’ in existence. Linklater cements himself as a film legend and this one will go down as one of the great of this decade.

boyhood-2014-009-teen-mason-by-truck-on-side-of-road

2. Goodbye To Language 3D

If you don’t know who Jean-Luc Godard is go out right this second and find a copy of Breathless to watch. He more or less invented the French New Wave of Cinema and launched art film as a popular mode of consumption here in the states as well as movie geeks devoured his and his friend’s films. The legendary director is 83 now and he hasn’t made what you would call a mainstream narrative film since 1972, but really if you want to watch him find everything he made from 1960 to 1968, after then with the revolutionary fervor in Europe he turned completely political. Some of those are good as well but a tad inaccessible. This one got a screening in Madison, but it was not screened many places because it had to be presented in 3D and not many art movie theaters took a chance on this. I hope to find a way to see it soon and in 3D if possible.

Jean-Luc_Godard_at_Berkeley,_1968_(1)
3. Leviathan (tie)

A Russian film that I haven’t been able to see, though I’ve heard good things from the Cannes showing this past May. As far as I know this isn’t available to see anywhere just yet.

3. Horse Money (tie)

A Portuguese film that’s more experimental, no where to find this right now either. I’m jealous of these London critics that get access to see such cool films.

5. Under The Skin

Now here we are back to something I’ve seen. Under the Skin flew under the radar of many as it got a limited release back in April. I watched it On Demand in late August I believe and was floored by it’s unique take on the alien invasion horror genre. Scarlett Johansson is amazing in this. The film is a slow burn and really worth checking out. I’m surprised it’s so far up this list, but pleasantly so.

under-the-skin
6. The Grand Budapest Hotel

Yes! I was worried that this films early release back in March could lead people to forget how great this was. It is the most Wes Anderson-y of all his films. Twee and with impeccable design this film is an absolute gem. The front facing camerawork, amazing color choices, and Anderson’s stable of actors make this so unique and so fun at the same time. Hope this gets some Academy consideration as well.

02GRAND1-jumbo
7. Winter Sleep

A Turkish film that’s set in the beautiful Anatolia region that examines the gap between the rich and poor in their society. A very popular topic these days. I hope it’s as applicable across the cultural divide as it is within its local context. This is a real opportunity to make a statement. Hope I get a chance to see this one as film from the Middle East region is getting very interesting lately.

8. The Tribe

Another Cannes favorite and from Ukraine I hope this film has something to say about the current state of things there. This film is about a boarding school for the deaf. It could be a little hard to watch considering it’s entirely in sign language (presumably Ukrainian) and with no subtitles. Perhaps they can add them for international distribution, but it hasn’t hurt the film from winning awards in France. The Ukraine is an area rich with history and this sound very interesting if nothing else.

9. Ida (tie)

This is a 2013 Polish film that’s now on Netflix so I’ll be streaming this very very soon. It’s an awards favorite in the foreign language category. This deals with 1960s Poland and the Stalinist regime and the church. Sounds very Polish to me. I’ll report back on what I think about this, very excited to finally watch it.

Ida_(2013_film)
9. Jauja (tie)
11. Mr. Turner (tie)

This one won’t be out around here until January, but it’s Mike Leigh’s look at prolific British painter JMW Turner. Character actor Timothy Spall gets a starring role here and I’m very excited to see it. Just have to wait a little longer than our British friends to see it.

mr-turner-main
11. National Gallery (tie)
11. The Wolf Of Wall Street (tie)

If you haven’t seen this one yet I don’t know what to tel you that you probably haven’t already heard. Masterwork from Scorsese and DiCaprio. This one was at last year’s Oscars so it’s awards run is over. It was very worthy but last year was just too strong for it to win much of anything. Still a really great film and on Netflix I believe, so re-watch it soon to remind yourself how cool and funny it was.

the-wolf-of-wall-street-trailer-movies-dwarf
11. Whiplash (tie)

I reviewed this one recently and here’s the link to that if you missed it: https://midwestmovieman.wordpress.com/2014/11/01/double-feature-friday-part-two-whiplash/

This is a real contender this year and I expect it to make the Oscars nominated as Best Film.

whiplash
15. The Duke Of Burgundy
16. Birdman (tie)

Another one I just reviewed earlier this month. This one is in my opinion the only real challenge to BoyhoodBirdman is unique and the one take for nearly the entire film is at the same time exhausting and inspiring. I loved this movie. See it!

Here’s the link to my review: https://midwestmovieman.wordpress.com/2014/11/02/birdman-or-the-unexpected-virtue-of-ignorance/

7n_moviefeatures00
16. Two Days, One Night (tie)

This one doesn’t get released until Christmas here and even then won’t get into theaters around here until 2015 most likely.  This is a Belgian film directed by the Dardenne brothers starring Marion Cotillard. I love how she straddles more mainstream American movies while still doing European prestige films like this. Buzz is she could capture Best Actress consideration for this. I hope so because she’s one of the most consistent actresses out there, and lovely to boot. I’m really rooting for her to continue making great choices like this.

Deux_jours,_une_nuit_poster
18. Citizenfour (tie)

This is a terrific and timely documentary that I looked at earlier this month as well.  Here is my review: https://midwestmovieman.wordpress.com/2014/11/07/edward-snowden-is-citizenfour/

This could scoop up serious attention for Best Documentary though 20,000 Days on Earth was my personal favorite, because this is so topical I could see the Academy giving this the award. I’m sure this will be On Demand or Netflix shortly, but it’s out of theaters now mostly so you’ll have to wait if you didn’t catch it yet.

ByX6nl3IIAA435k
18. The Look Of Silence (tie)

This is the companion piece to the best documentary in recent memory 2012’s The Act of Killing. This takes an alternative look at the Indonesian genocide in the mid 1960’s. Just go watch The Act of Killing as soon as you can. It’s on Netflix. Just go watch it now to be safe. This new film does not have a release date yet but does have a U.S. distributor so expect it next year sometime.

the_look_of_silence_1
18. The Wind Rises (tie)

My thoughts the day I saw this amazing Japanese animated film from before I started this blog, this one came out back in March here: “One of the prettiest films I’ve ever laid eyes on. From the Japanese master of animation, Miyazaki’s last film was a fitting send off. It was very interesting to see from a Japanese perspective the (slightly fictional) creation of the Japanese Zero fighter. It was equally interesting to see the main characters be present at historical events like the 1923 earthquake that destroyed Tokyo and night raids by secret police in Germany. Easily my pick for best animated film at the Oscars. See it if you can. (I saw the English dubbed version and our actors did Japan proud)”

Frozen beat this out last year as best animated film. Wrong choice Academy.

maxresdefault

One thought on “Sight & Sound’s Top Films of The Year

  1. http://blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/bruno-dumonts-mini-series-lil-quinquin-tops-cahiers-du-cinemas-top-10-films-of-2014-20141129

    Cahiers du Cinema released their top film list of 2014 as well. Their list is a little more esoteric. Suffice to say the only films that matched up with the S&S list were Goodbye to Language 3D, Under the Skin and The Wind Rises. They also mention Love is Strange in their top 10 which I agree is a really great film. Cronenberg’s Maps to the Stars won’t be out in the US until late February.

    Like

Leave a comment